Medical Services

To ensure the health and safety of all travelers, the Airport Medical Unit provides emergency medical care whenever and wherever it is required, including the Passenger Terminal, Cargo Terminal, and Immigration Area or inside aircraft. In addition, the Medical Center also carries out other airport-related activities, such as confirming whether passengers are well enough to fly and issuing internationally qualified medical opinions.

Yellow Fever Vaccination

Vaccination against yellow fever is required to prevent the importation of yellow fever virus into countries which had never reported any case of yellow fever but where the mosquito vector and non-human primate hosts are present. In those settings, vaccination is an entry requirement for all travellers arriving (including airport transit) from countries where there is a risk of yellow fever transmission or any disembarkation to endemic areas after 24 hours.

If yellow fever vaccination is contraindicated for medical reasons, a letter of medical exemption is necessary.

Validity of Certificate

  • Certificate is valid only if the vaccine has been approved by the WHO and if the vaccinating center has been designated by the health administration for the territory in which that center is situated.
  • The international certificate of vaccination for yellow fever vaccine becomes valid 10 days after primary vaccination and remains valid for a period of 10 years.
  • The certificate must be signed in his own hand by a medical practitioner or other person by the national health administration; his official stamp is not an accepted substitute for his signature.
  • Any amendment of this certificate or failure to complete any part of it, may render it in invalid.
  • The certificate shall be fully completed in English or in French. The certificate may also be completed in another language on the same document, in addition to either English or French.


Designated Vaccinated Centers In Tanzania Mainland

1. Julius Nyerere International Airport Dar Es Salaam 8. Mwanza Port Mwanza 15. Kasumulo Frontier Post Mbeya
2. Sea Port Dar Es Salaam 9. Kabanga Frontier Post Kagera 16. MbambaBay Frontier Post Ruvuma
3. Kilimanjaro International Airport Arusha 10. Mtukula Frontier Post Kagera 17. Tunduma Frontier Post Mbeya
4. Tanga Sea port Tanga 11. Kigoma Frontier Post Kigoma 18. Mtambaswala Mtwara
5. Holili frontier post Kilimanjaro 12. Isaka Dry Port Shinyanga      
6. Horohoro Frontier Post Tanga 13. Rusumo Frontier Post Kagera      
7. Tarakea Frontier Post Kilimanjaro 14. Sirari Frontier Post Mara      


For more information click here...

Contact Info

Julius Nyerere Int. Airport
Terminal II
P. O. Box 18032
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Fax: +255 22 2844373
Tel. (Gen): +255 22 2844324

JNIA Go Green